Skip to content

Clara Schumann to Brahms, 11 Jan 1867

October 11, 2010

CLARA to Brahms

DÜSSELDORF,  Jan. 11 [1867]

[DEAREST JOHANNES]

…The donkey in question is Bagge-! Of course I did not speak to Härtels about it, I have your pride too much at heart.

Julie is not going with me. She feels very comfortable at Frau Feidel’s. She is learning a good deal of ensemble playing with Lachner and also with Koning. But, alas, she has been ill again for a fortnight, because she has over-exerted herself with all kinds of work. We were all the more shocked to hear about it because she had been quite well all through the summer. So it will do her more good to be quiet than to go on this journey. We have again had all sorts of trouble with Ludwig, but Levi has smoothed things over and as long as Ludwig is under his supervision I feel easier in my mind than I otherwise should. I have had my full measure of anxiety in other ways as well just lately, and I often feel as if I no longer had the courage to go on. But, thank god, such as state of mind is only temporary. My little house, with everything that it contains in the summer, soon brightens my horizon again. I could not show Hiller your Requiem because he was not here, and I only saw him once for a few hours before I received it. He showed me a number of his own things, and to my real joy there were some quite nice pieces for four hands among them. It is true they were only trifles, but he is always so exceedingly friendly to me that I was glad to be able to praise him for once…

Your CLARA

Litzmann, Berthold, Ed., Letters of Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms 1853-1896, Vol. I, Edward Arnold & Co. 1927, pp. 205-206.

Clara Schumann

Clara Schumann

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

