Skip to content

Brahms to Clara Schumann 22 Feb. 1856

June 25, 2010

Brahms to Clara
 (Düsseldorf) Friday, Feb.22

Here I am again sitting alone in my little room, drinking my afternoon coffee.  I first had a look at everything so as  to be able to report fully to you.  Bertha only got my letter from Gottingen today, when I had already arrived.  I saw the two boys first, and they ran cheering towards me.  Bertha came up from downstairs.  She almost  fainted with fright.  The children are all looking splendid, healthy and happy and they can read and count now.  They can also sing songs by the dozen.  Bertha sees to that  very nicely.  I then had a glance at my library and had to arrange it differently because of the substantial additions.  As for money I have about 200 thalers.  I was forced mto keep the whole of the 96 from Gottingen, because J. refused to take any…. If the girls pass through here I will give them the History of the  World, which I wished to present to them at Christmas.  I had a meal with the children today and enjoyed their company very much.  I am very glad now that I brought them nothing, for their good behaviour is all the more gratifying.  In my opinion children cannot help their joy in seeing one again being swamped by the joy over the presents one brings.  It must be so……

In my opinion there is no other really born musician among the younger men.  In this respect I cannot consider isolated works.  The whole man ought to be musical, ought to breathe music.  I am often at a loss to imagine what Joachim will become when he is fully developed.  I cannot understand why he thinks exactly the same as me, and yet, on the other hand, it often seems comprehensible…..

Litzmann, Berthold, Ed., Letters of Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms 1853-1896, Vol. I, Edward Arnold & Co. 1927

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

