Skip to content

Brahms to Robert Schumann May 1855

June 17, 2010

Brahms to Schumann
Dusseldorf, May

Beloved and Respected Friend!

Let me thank you most heartily for having so kindly thought of me on the 7th May.  How surprised and delighted I was with the beautiful present and the kind words in the book.  Altogether it is not often one can expect to have so happy a day.  Your dear wife understands so well the art of celebrating such a festivity – but you know that better than anybody.  I had a pleasant surprise in a photograph of my mother, my sister and of you, and in the afternoon Joachim arrived, we hope in order to stay some time.

A little while ago, as you know, I heard the “Bride of Messina Overture” in Hamburg, and I cannot tell you how much I was moved by that deeply serious work, and after the “Manfred” too.  I wished the whole time that you were there to hear it with me so that you might see what joy you give through your magnificent works.  For a long time I had been particularly longing to hear “Manfred” or “Faust”.  I hope we shall yet hear the last of your works – the greatest of all – together.  It was only your long silence, which caused us some anxiety, that prevented me from sending you my thanks sooner.  So let me thank you again most heartily for having so kindly remembered me on the 7th of May 1855.  With deep love and respect.    Your Johannes.

Litzmann, Berthold, Ed., Letters of Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms 1853-1896, Vol. I, Edward Arnold & Co. 1927

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

