Skip to content

Brahms to Robert Schumann 16 Nov. 1853

June 8, 2010

Brahms to Robert Schumann
Hanover, Nov.16, 1853

Revered Master,
 
You have made me so extremely happy that I cannot attempt to express my thanks in words.  May God grant that my works will soon be able to prove to you how much your love and kindness have uplifted and inspired me.  The public praise that you have deigned to bestow upon me will have so greatly increased the expectations of the musical world regarding my work that I do not know how I shall manage to do even approximate justice to it.  Above all it will compel me to exercise the greatest caution in my choice of pieces for publication.  I am thinking that I shall not publish any of my trios but shall select the sonatas in C and F Sharp minor to be my Op.1 and 2.  Op. 3 will be the songs, and Op. 4 will be the Scherzo in E Flat minor.  You will readily understand that I am straining every nerve to bring as little disgrace as possible on your name.

I delayed writing to you until I had sent the four works above mentioned to Breitkopf and received their answer, so that I might tell you at once what the result of your recommendation was.  But this we have already found out from your last letter to Joachim.  So all I have to say for the present  is that, in accordance with your advice, I shall go to Leipsic within the next few days (probably tomorrow).  Furthermore, I should like to tell you that I have copied my Sonata in F minor and have considerably altered the finale.  I have also improved the violin Sonata.  Thank you a thousand times for the nice portrait of yourself which you were kind enough to send me as also for the letter which you wrote to my father.  You have rejoiced the hearts of two or three worthy people by your attention and I am for life, Yours, Brahms.

Nov.29,1853

Litzmann, Berthold, Ed., Letters of Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms 1853-1896, Vol. I, Edward Arnold & Co. 1927

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

